Australian Indie-Pop Darling Phebe Starr Reveals “Everything” | Debut LP Out 3/11

Divine Magazine
Divine Magazine 4 Min Read

Fresh off the announcement of her return to SXSW in 2022, Australian heralded singer and songwriter Phebe Starr returns with a dark and brooding, yet catchy new single + video, “Everything.”

Everything Single Art

Taken from her forthcoming debut album Heavy Metal Flower Petal (set for release on March 11), the track takes us on a journey through time and space, examining the ways in which the quest for love can often lead us to strange and unfamiliar terrain. “A lot of my songs start from a visual place in my head,” says Starr, “with ‘Everything,’ I imagined myself walking through the dark matter of the universe as if getting lost in the gravitational pull of a black hole. That feeling was foreign and exhilarating to me, like the way you feel when falling in love.
Full of hope and longing, “Everything” is a warm and classic song written and produced by Phebe Starr and Dorny Mayes (Troye SivanGordiBirds of Tokyo), with mixing by Charles Daly (Amy SharkAlldayMallrat) and mastering by Andrei Eremin (Tones and ITash SultanaMatt Corby).

Phebe Starr - Everything 'Official Visualiser'

Heavy Metal Flower Petal is Starr’s most potent and liberating work to date, one that unveils an invigorated Starr more in touch with herself than ever before. Written in the wake of divorcing the man she married as a 21-year-old, and brought to life with guests including Alister Wright (Cloud ControlVLOSSOM), Xavier Dunn and Japanese Wallpaper, the album peels back the layers and explores new territory within Starr’s being, showing a contrast between the toughness (the ‘heavy metal’) and the softness (the ‘flower petal’) that exists within her life. “The whole album is about my process of letting myself feel things that I was afraid to,” she says. “It’s about letting myself be tender and vulnerable, learning how to incorporate the feminine into my narrative.” Over the course of its ten-track duration, Heavy Metal Flower Petal is a powerful masterclass of Starr’s musical and personal journeys, and an album sure to lift the musician to the highest echelon of Australian homegrown songwriters.
Australian indie-pop darling Phebe Starr has taken the road less traveled to bloom in her own time. Having arrived on the music scene in 2013 with her breakthrough track “Alone With You,” Starr grabbed the attention of the music industry and was heavily played by Australian tastemaker radio station Triple J. Since then, Starr has accumulated a list of achievements including clearing lucrative syncs for major brands like SonySamsung GalaxyHBO Ballers; tours with artists such as Of Monsters + MenCub Sports and The Paper Kites; as well as penning tracks for some of the biggest artists and projects in the world. Starr has become a regular on Spotify editorial playlists including New Music Friday’s around the globe, Fresh Finds, Young and Free, Indie Arrivals, Indie Pop, Women of Pop, and thousands more fan generated playlists, resulting in the accumulation of millions of streams, all as an independent musician.

Heavy Metal Flower Petal Album Art

Heavy Metal Flower Petal Track list:

1. Rollercoaster Man
2. Air
3. Everything
4. My Boy Cries
5. Daffodils
6. My Magic Moon
7. Edelweiss
8. Alphabet Soul
9. Interlude ft. Butterbath
10. Tornado
11. Whiplash

Follow Phebe Starr:
Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Spotify | YouTube | Apple Music

Share This Article
Divine Magazine, your ultimate destination for the latest trends in lifestyle, health, music, home/garden, and more.