Out singer Lucy Spraggan releases new album ‘Today Was a Good Day’ | Watch new lyric video for “End of the World”

Lucy Spraggan is in a good place and wants to share it with the world –– May 3rd she released her fifth studio album Today Was A Good Day on Cooking Vinyl. Lead single “Lucky Stars” has now had over half a million streams and is playlisted at Radio 2. The album is available here.

May 1st, Lucy kicked off her sold-out headline UK tour in Inverness, which follows the recent announcement that she will be playing Glastonbury for a second time. Lucy is the only X Factor contestant ever to be asked to play Glastonbury – and now she will be returning for a second time on The Avalon StageLucy played The Acoustic Stage to a completely full tent in 2017 and describes the performance as a ‘life changing show’.

With over 50 million YouTube views240 million streams on Spotify and the most Googled musician of 2012 Lucy started out as a singer-songwriter performing at open-mic nights around the country. At just 19 years old she took the brave decision to perform her self-penned hit “Last Night (Beer Fear)” on the X factor and secured a Top 20 single and Top 30 self-released album whilst still competing in the show. It’s since had had over 40 million views on YouTube. 

Through relentless touring, her innate songwriting ability and an ever growing fanbase –Lucy has achieved an incredible 4 Top 30 albums (three of which were self-released) – the last of which went to number 12 – and now Lucy’s signed a new record and publishing deal with Cooking Vinyl. Today Was A Good Day marks a new chapter for Lucy musically and personally – her fifth studio album has been produced by Jon Maguire (Calum Scott, Kodaline) and Lucy sounds at her most confident and accomplished.


Last year, Lucy released “Stick The Kettle On” – the first track from the new album – in support of CALM – The Campaign Against Living Miserably and wanted to use her experiences to help others, this was recently used in a new episode of Grey’s Anatomy. Her knack for telling a story through her songs hasn’t changed and in the past it has earned her comparisons to Courtney Barnett, KT Tunstall and Ed Sheeran. This talent continues on the new album with tracks like “Connie’s Bar,” inspired by a woman she met in Florida; new single “Lucky Stars” and the poignant goodbye song “The Waiting Room” and “Home Wasn’t Built In A Day.” 

After beginning the year as support for Melissa Etheridge across Europe and Scandinavia and playing SXSW –Lucy Spraggan now prepares for her own headline tour across the US and Europe, including her own 13-date UK headline tour. 

Releasing this fifth album is proof of her enduring appeal. 

Lucy Spraggan Today Was A Good Day

Full Album Tracklisting:

  1. Breathe
  2. Lucky Stars
  3. End Of The World
  4. Don’t Play This On The Radio
  5. Dinner’s Ready
  6. Lightning
  7. Home Wasn’t Built In A Day
  8. Stick The Kettle On (Ft. Scouting For Girls)
  9. Today Was A Good Day
  10. Connie’s Bar
  11. Love Is The Best Revenge
  12. The Waiting Room
  13. As The Saying Goes
  14. Thanks For Choosing Me

US Tour 

Wed 12-Jun-2019         New York, NY            (Mercury Lounge)

Fri 14-Jun-2019           Philadelphia, PA          (The Locks at Sona)

Sat 15-Jun-2019         Boston, MA                (The Winery, Haymarket)

Sun 16-Jun-2019         Washington, DC          (Songbyrd Record Cafe and Music House)

Mon 17-Jun-2019         Pittsburgh, PA           (Club Cafe)

Wed 19-Jun-2019        Toronto, Canada         (Monarch Tavern)

Fri 21-Jun-2019           Detroit, MI                   (PJ’s Lager House)

Sat 22-Jun-2019         Cleveland, OH            (Grog Shop)

Sun 23-Jun-2019         Columbus, OH           (Rumba Cafe)

Tue 25-Jun-2019         Chicago, IL                  (Schubas)

Wed 26-Jun-2019        Madison, WI                (High Noon Saloon)

Thu 27-Jun-2019         Minneapolis, MN          (Studio B, Skyway Theatre)





Out singer Lucy Spraggan releases new album ‘Today Was a Good Day’ | Watch new lyric video for “End of the World”

Written by Divine Magazine

A place to find a little bit of everything. Lifestyle, music, books, food, health, travel & entertainment news.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Emily Chambers

Emily Chambers Releases New Single Real Talk

the mage on the hill by angel martinez release day review 92 1557243521

The Mage on the Hill by Angel Martinez Release Day Review