News, Lifestyle, Music, Entertainment

‘Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812’ will release Original Broadway Cast Recording on May 19, 2017

0 142

The new Broadway musical Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 and Reprise Records will release an original Broadway cast recording, featuring Josh Groban as ‘Pierre’ and Denée Benton as ‘Natasha’, May 19, 2017

The 2-CD and digital album is available for pre-order now on all participating retailers and

Featuring 38 cast members and the full GREAT COMET orchestra with Groban playing both the accordion and the piano throughout, the original Broadway cast recording will be released as a two disc set and will feature the Broadway score in it’s entirety. The album was recorded at DiMenna Center New York on February 12 and 13 by Kevin Killen, who has worked with such artists as David Bowie, Paul McCartney, Elvis Costello, Peter Gabriel, Burt Bacharach, Dar Williams and more. 

Created by Dave Malloy (Ghost QuartetPreludes) and directed by Rachel Chavkin (Hadestown, Artistic Director of The TEAM), THE GREAT COMETstars multi-platinum recording artist Josh Groban in his Broadway debut. Inspired by a 70-page slice of War and Peace, this “vibrant, thrillingly imagined new musical” (The New York Times) is “stunning and blazingly original” (Entertainment Weekly) and brings us just inches from Tolstoy’s brash young lovers as they light up Moscow in a “heaven-sent fireball” (The New York Times) of romance and passion.

“One of the decade’s best musicals” (Time Out New York), THE GREAT COMET has “rousing music and ravishing performances” (Daily News) with a groundbreaking score that mixes rock, pop, soul, folk and electronic dance music with classic Broadway. THE GREAT COMET arrives fresh off its sold-out run in Boston and its critically acclaimed Off-Broadway premiere. Its renowned creative team has reimagined the Imperial Theatre as an opulent Russian salon, where every seat provides a unique perspective and an unforgettable experience which is “thrilling, a feast for the senses” (Associated Press) and “inventive, ravishing and full-on romantic” (New York Post).

 Track Listing below:

CD 1 

  1. “Prologue”
  2. “Pierre”
  3. “Moscow”
  4. “The Private and Intimate Life of the House”
  5. “Natasha & Bolkonskys”
  6. “No One Else”
  7. “The Opera”
  8. “Natasha & Anatole”
  9. “The Duel”
  10. “Dust and Ashes”
  11. “Sunday Morning”
  12. “Charming”
  13. “The Ball”


CD 2

  1. “Letters”
  2. “Sonya & Natasha”
  3. “Sonya Alone”
  4. “Preparations”
  5. “Balaga”
  6. “The Abduction”
  7. “In My House”
  8. “A Call to Pierre”
  9. “Find Anatole”
  10. “Pierre & Anatole”
  11. “Natasha Very Ill”
  12. “Pierre & Andrey”
  13. “Pierre & Natasha”
  14. “The Great Comet of 1812”
[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy